Meticulous Monday

When was the last time you dusted the hinges on all the doors in your house?

Recently, my husband mentioned to me that the hinges on the doors needed cleaning………Now bearing in mind that my husband is a machinist, this remark should not be a surprise – machinists are very detail oriented – they need to be very precise.

Not all of us are this detail oriented. I tend to be more of a generalizer, a “let’s sum it up” kind of person. Admittedly, the hinges on the doors never occurred to me to need any kind of cleaning ! My amazement to his observation was later tempered by the realization that yes – the hinges did need to be cleaned……. But at the same time, I wondered where I should put this task on my “priority” list.

Our lives are filled with tasks to be accomplished. Some seem more important than others. The decision to be made on their importance is based on our perspective. Cleaning hinges is probably something I could live my life without giving it much thought.

But whether we are detail oriented or not, we will all have thoughts about getting old and facing death. Where we will go when that happens, is a “detail” we should put at the top of our priority list.

Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25,26)

Out of everything, make your life and death belief a “detail” not to be missed…………..

………… your eternal destination “hinges” on this !

Leave a comment