Trick or Treat Tuesday

I’m glad Halloween is over !

Every year I am faced with a dilemma – do I totally ignore it, or do I participate in it with an element of goodness.

A number of years ago, I learned about the origins of Halloween and the meanings of the “traditional” activities that go along with it. Unfortunately, they are all based on “evil”. There just doesn’t seem to be anything “good” about this so-called “holiday”.  Somehow, celebrating evil just doesn’t seem right.

Well, what about carving pumpkins with happy faces and trick or treating with happy costumes ? Why not try to make this “holiday” good? Can that be so bad?

As Christians we are called to live “holy” lives. “Test all things; hold fast what is good, abstain from every form of evil.” (1 Thes. 5: 21-22)

Over the years, my husband and I have abstained more and more from the activities of Halloween and now find it very easy to “pass-over”  to that which is “good” – thanksgiving to the Lord, and the celebration of the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas !!

Leave a comment